Paladin Class

This class conforms to the ©DnD ™ base class as presented in the ©Players Handbook.

Class choice in Incarna is a role-playing challenge more than anything. While any class is possible in the right situation/background, race, culture, gender, regional issues, and social norms all factor into what path a character is able to take. A full Character Background and Perspective Stories can explain anything, even complete deviation from any setting or rule restrictions. However, it is also these constraining elements that give the most role-play challenge (and reward) and should be encouraged. Multi-classing after character creation has only the limits the story and setting provide (aside from any normal Ability limits).

Changes to the Paladin

Paladins are the warriors of the faith. They are the martial examples, and the militaristic arm of a faith in fighting its foes. They are not community or follower oriented, like Clerics.

  1. Paladins (all faith based operations) use Wisdom, not Charisma. All powers based on Charisma also change.
  2. The Oath that a paladin takes depends on the faith they profess and/or the order that they are part of. Often these have all standard options available, but have elite orders and institutions that restrict and augment the options available. These often have additional principles and tenets the character must abide by.
  3. Essence: The Paladin loses 1 Essence at 1st level for the deep ties to their deity. They lose 1 additional Essence at 3rd level when they choose their path to reflect their deeper bond.
  4. Tasha’s Cauldron: Fighting Style Options, Martial Versatility (Optional Features); Oath of Glory


  1. Paladins always start off with better armor (Medium Armor) than normal starting characters (Light Armor).
  2. Lore: Religion [+2]
  3. Offering: The [greater] holy symbol of an enemy of the faith may be offered up for Divine Aegis (a single use of Shield of Faith).
  4. Aptitude Synergy: Optional; If the character chooses to spend Essence to acquire the aptitude combination.
    • Divine 1 + Kinetic 1:
      • Divine Sense: Per Short Rest (instead of Long Rest).
      • Aura of Protection: The 30′ radius effect is at 9th level.
      • Aura of Courage: The 30′ radius effect is at 9th level.


  1. Paladins need to follow their guiding principles or lose all spell casting and channel divinity until atoned for. Role playing wise it means they are constantly asking those around them to prove their faith.
    • Single Combat: Should a paladin challenge a foe of their faith to single combat, in the name of their faith, and win, they gain a Divine Blessing (typically one-time use of the Bless spell, Inspiration, or Channel Divinity). Should they refuse such a challenge made to them, they fall under a Bane spell (and cannot gain Divine Blessings) until it can be atoned for. This does not apply if the situation is obvious suicide.